The New Delhi district has three sub divisions-

  • Chanakya Puri
  • Delhi Cantt
  • Vasant Vihar

The districts correspond to the Police Districts. This district is headed by a District Magistrate, who has under him an Additional District Magistrate, Sub Divisional Magistrates, Tehsildars and Sub-Registrar. The District Administration carries out diverse variety of functions including magisterial matters, revenue courts, issue of various statutory documents, registration of property, conduct of elections, relief & rehabilitations, land acquisition and various other areas which are too numerous to be numerated. The District Administration in Delhi is the de-facto enforcement department for all kinds of Government Policies and exercises supervisory powers over numerous other functionaries of the Government.

At the apex of revenue hierarchy is the Divisional Commissioner who is also the District Magistrate of Delhi and Inspector General of Registration. He is also designated as Secretary (Revenue) and Collector under various Revenue Acts.

Subdivision Chanakya Puri:-

Chanakyapuri means city of “Chanakya”, is named after Chanakya, a third century BC Mauryan advisor and prime minister. Chanakyapuri was the first major extension of New Delhi beyond Lutyens’ Delhi. Chanakyapuri is an affluent neighborhood and diplomatic enclave established in the 1950s in New Delhi. It plays host to the majority of foreign embassies in New Delhi. Chanakyapuri was also developed as official residences for both politicians and civil servants of the Government of India. As such, it has numerous parks and open spaces, and suffers few utility disruptions. It is located near the Prime Minister’s residence.

Today, Chanakyapuri is the diplomatic district of New Delhi, situated amidst a lush green expanse. It is characterized by wide avenues, landscaped round about, eclectic architecture, diplomatic mission, government housing, international schools and some of Delhi’s finest and oldest 5 star hotels. The diplomatic enclave is the residential districts within Chanakyapuri, a favorite residential option for diplomats, bureaucrats and affluent Indians. The area enjoys the best amenities in the city.

Subdivision Delhi Cantt:-

Delhi Cantonment (popularly referred to as Delhi Cantt) was established in 1914. Until February 1938, the Cantonment Board Delhi was known as the Cantt. authority. The area of the Cantonment is approx. 10,521 acres (4,258 ha). At the 2011 census, the population of the Cantonment was 116,352. The Delhi Cantonment is as Class I Cantonment Board.

The Cantonment is governed by the Cantonments Act, 2006 while various policy letters and instructions from the Ministry of Defence pertaining to the area are issued from time to time. Although the board functions as a local municipal body, it remains under the administrative control of the Directorate General Defence Estates, New Delhi and Principal Director, Defence Estates, Western Command, Chandigarh.

Cantonments in Delhi and Ahmedabad were originally established by the British. The Delhi Cantonment houses the Indian Army Headquarters, Delhi Area; the Army Golf Course; the Defence Services Officers Institute; military housing; Army and Air Force Public Schools; and various other defence-related installations. The cantonment also houses the Army Research and Referral Hospital, a tertiary care medical centre of the armed forces of India.

There is a railway station within the cantonment, Delhi Cantonment railway station, from where trains depart for various parts of the country.

Subdivision Vasant Vihar:-

Vasant Vihar is a posh neighbourhood located in the New Delhi district of National Capital Territory of Delhi. It is located near the diplomatic area of Chanakyapuri and houses over 50 diplomatic missions of foreign countries.It was originally developed in 1960s by retired Government of India officers, later developed as a posh residential locality like Air India and Indian Airlines Colony due to its proximity to diplomatic enclave of Chanakyapuri.

The four main streets in Vasant Vihar are Munirka Marg, Vasant Marg, Poorvi Marg and Paschimi Marg, literally Eastern and Western Street. These form a rough triangle that encloses much of the neighbourhood. The neighbourhood is primarily residential and when first planned consisted of six blocks named A to F, with each block having its own local market. Vasant Vihar has several parks in every block. Apartments in new emerging luxury buildings in Vasant Vihar have in the past sold at prices ranging from 5 Crore to 20 Crore.