District New Delhi lies in the heart of the capital city of India. Historically it was planned by Sir Edwin Lutyen in a geometric pattern, over a triangular base, which had three major functions at its apex., viz. Commercial, governmental and recreational: Connaught Place, Government Complex (Viceroy Place and secretariat) and the India Gate are the respective centers of these major activities. The Connaught Place was conceived as the city centre, which was located in geographical centre of the old and New Delhi, New Delhi District is one of the 11 districts of the NCT of Delhi that has been reorganized from 19th September, 2012 when Delhi was divided into Eleven Revenue Districts. Prior to that, there used to be only nine districts for the whole of Delhi with its district head quarter at 5, Sham Nath Marg. New Delhi District has 3 subdivisions, 20 villages, 24 Police Station. The area of New Delhi District includes Cantonment area, Vasant Vihar, IGI Airport, the seat of Central Government, Rashtrapati Bhawan, the Prime Minister’s office and residence, Central Government office, Foreign Missions, residences of Ministers, Members of Parliament, Diplomats and Central Government employees.

New Delhi District form Disaster Point of View, Disasters pose a serious threat to all aspects of development. They results in death, and cause physical, environmental and economic damage. Disasters challenge development by destroying social stability diverting limited resources to emergency responses. District Disaster Management Authority (New Delhi) receives a number of calls regarding fire incidents, building collapse and bomb threat like situation etc. in the District New Delhi. Further, as per Section 30 (xiii), it is the responsibility of district authority to facilitate community training and awareness programmed for prevention of disaster or mitigation of effects of disasters.

DM Mechanism Institutions/ Nodal Department Functions
National Level Mechanism National Disaster Management Authority (NDMA) For better coordination of disaster management at national level, National Disaster Management Authority (NDMA) is constituted. This is a multi disciplinary body with nodal officers from all concerned departments/ministries/ organizations. Apart from these developments, the government of India has its National Contingency Action Plan prepared by the nodal ministry of disaster management. Also a National Emergency Operation Centre (NEOC) has been started functioning in the Ministry of Home Affairs with all sophisticated equipment’s and most modern technologies for disaster management.
State Level Mechanism Delhi Disaster Management Authority (DDMA) Delhi Disaster Management Authority (DDMA) is constituted under the chairmanship of Lt. Governor of Delhi with the Chief Minister of Delhi as Vice Chairperson and Ministers of relevant Departments as members. For Delhi, the Department of Revenue has been identifies as nodal department to tackle disasters, being the Divisional Commissioner as its Nodal Officer and convener of the DDMA.
District Level Mechanism District Disaster Management Authority, District New Delhi (DDMA-New Delhi) District Disaster Management Authority (DDMA) is constituted under the Chairmanship of District Magistrate of District New Delhi, elected representative of the District (Member of Legislative Assembly / Municipal Councilor) is the Co-Chairperson, ADM (New Delhi) as CEO, DDMA (New Delhi), Delhi Police, PWD, MCD and DHS as members.


District Disaster Management Authority (DDMA) is created under Section 25 of the Disaster Management Act, 2005 by the Parliament of India. The same has been notified by L.G. under F. DRM/ADM (HQ)/DM/Rules/2006(i). DDMA, New Delhi, is the apex planning body responsible for disaster risk reduction initiatives in the district.


  1. District Magistrate of the District : Chairperson, ex-officer
  2. Elected representatives (MLAs/Councilor) : Co-Chairperson, ex-officer of the District nominated by the LG
  3. Additional District Magistrate/ : Member, ex-officer Chief Executive Officer
  4. Deputy Commissioner of Police : Member, ex-officer
  5. Zonal Deputy Commissioner, MCD : Member, ex-officer
  6. Chief District Medical Officer, DHS : Member, ex-officer
  7. Superintending Engineer, PWD : Member, ex-officer

The Chairperson of the District Authority shall, in addition to presiding over the meetings of the District Authority, exercise and discharge such powers and functions of the District Authority as the District Authority may delegate to him.

The Chairperson of the District Authority shall, in the case of an emergency, have power to exercise all or any of the powers of the District Authority but the exercise of such powers shall be subject to ex post facto ratification of the District Authority.

The District Authority or the Chairperson of the District Authority may, by general or special order, in writing, delegate such of its or his powers and functions, under sub-section (1) or (2), as the case may be, to the Chief Executive Officer of the District Authority, subject to such conditions and limitations, if any, as it or he deems fit.